604: Setting In-Between

As mentioned in My P3Dv5 Settings, I set the Autogen and Scenery Draw Distance to High as it gives me the best balance to see as much autogens as possible.

Recently, I am cling to push it one more step to Very High for even more visible objects.  Sadly, this brings a little impact even though it is just barely noticeable.  I couldn’t help to think that it would be great if there were one more stop in between High and Very High.

Since the Setting Page doesn’t have the option, I turned to the configuration file (Prepar3d.cfg) for a possible fix.

Under [SCENERY], values of AUTOGEN_DRAW_DISTANCE and SCENERY_DRAW_DISTANCE are 18000.000000 and 42666.667969 (in meter) respectively when they are set to High; and 24000.000000 and 53333.335938 when they are set Very High.

So for testing, I entered 21000.000000 and 50000.335938 in the AUTOGEN_DRAW_DISTANCE and SCENERY_DRAW_DISTANCE instead.

Bingo, it works like a charm.  Autogen objects are changed accordingly in the far distance close to the power station (click image for higher resolution).

The description for the Setting even shown as Custom.
For the moment, I am still searching for the sweet spot from this customization for my system.

Frankly, even though I made many changes to the cfg file before, I never thought about altering these presets.  Obviously, there are a lot more room to play and explore in the file.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.