370: Activate Saitek Driver in FSX-SE

I purchased FSX-SE a year ago but abandoned it after briefly playing it for awhile fSX-SEbecause many setup procedures “seemed” to be different and I’d rather spend more time on my grandson at that time.

Last week, I picked it up again due to the recent Summer sales on Steam, where I finally got the long waited Flight School app.

This time, I seriously compared it to the box edition and found that the differences in structure between the two versions actually aren’t much.  I quickly copied the keyboard file and many key CFGs in FSX to the Steam version and they immediately work flawlessly.

Regarding the Saitek panels and FIPs, getting them up and running in SE is also a no-brainer.   I just need to copy the Saitek script in FSX’s exe.xml to the SE’s exe.xml.   Then remove “-run” from the as following shown.   That’s it.

<Launch.Addon>
 <Name>Saitek Panel(s) Plugin for FSX</Name>
 <Disabled>False</Disabled>
 <Path>C:\Program Files (x86)\Saitek\ProFlight FSX Plugin\SaiFlightSimX.exe</Path>
 <CommandLine></CommandLine>
 </Launch.Addon>

FSX-SE is the reincarnation of the long-dead FSX.   Definitely I will replace the “corpse” on my computer with the new “flesh” in the coming months.

 

 

6 thoughts on “370: Activate Saitek Driver in FSX-SE

  1. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts, Tom. I ended up deleting FSX-SE from my PC after running it and P3D side-by-side for some time. I still have it on my Surface laptop / tablet, though, as it runs FSX-SE much better than P3D.

    Candidly, I think tonight I’m going to download the trial for X-Plane 10. I ran that on my Mac a few years back, and I want to see what the flight models are like …

    Like

    1. I am not giving up P3D. But FSX or now the FSX-SE is a good supplement in areas, such as Missions, where P3D doesn’t support. Moreover, it is good to keep both FSX and P3D on the same computer in cases where files could be interchanged easily.
      Tried X-Plane 10 a while ago and I believe you are going to delete it as well. I am not saying it is bad but it is really different from FSX or P3D in my opinion.
      However, I would definitely try the X-Plane 11 which is said to come soon.

      Like

  2. Hi Tom, Pleasantly surprised you’ve made the change. Have been using it happily for about a year nearly without a problem. If run in to trouble run file cache verify first. Worst case you have to reinstall and with Steam that is very easy.

    Like

    1. You’re right. Installing and reinstalling with Steam is super easy.
      I am not giving up P3D. But FSX-SE is a good supplement in areas where P3D doesn’t support.
      Tom

      Like

  3. I am starting to convert to SE.however I have custom FIP for my 737. This is all I fly as I 9wn a cockpit. Need better description to allow FIP to work on steam edition thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

