104: Kill UTX in Orbx Regions

Lately, I’ve been helping scenery checking for Return to Misty Moorings’ coming Cambria Icefield Research Project (CIRP).

One team member Guy Maricich (known as Spud) commented the anomalies I reported as follows:

Due to time differences, installation differences and ‘the eye of the beholder’ differences there will always be anomalies showing.   Tom for instance, seems to have some objects that are floating more so than others do.   I suspect either he has addon MESH or something else that is causing him to see things a wee bit different than most of the rest of us.

For my install I have FSX Gold Edition, this includes Acceleration.  PJF and Tongass X, all the required libraries and as far as RTMM is concerned that is it.  No UTX, GEX, REX, or any other damn XXXessss which in my opinion have caused more problems for more people than the good Lord should allow.

To me, the answer to his comment is a yes and no.   But I couldn’t agree with him more regarding “the more enhancement addons you install, the more problems they may have caused.”

My system has been using the Flying Region approach for a long time.  The main objective is to slim down the FSX setup to the minimum.

However, I’ve left the UTX active while flying around Orbx and FSAddon’s scenery regions.   Spud’s comment cued me that there’s no point of keeping UTX active while flightsimming in these regions because Orbx’s sceneries are always on top.

Now, I am having it disabled.   I don’t see any anomalies so far.    But all my flights now load faster;  though I don’t see any improvement either.

7 thoughts on “104: Kill UTX in Orbx Regions

  1. Hi Tom, I’m pre-planning my software before I get a new PC setup, I’m still a bit green when it comes to some scenery stuff, ORBX has poke my interest after reading some of your blog.
    I checked out there site and they seem to have some nice looking stuff, but as mention above I use UTX as it fixes a lot of scenery where I live cause FSX (suck at it, lakes missing ect.)

    It seems to me that a lot of people are using UTX, GEX, REX with high end PC’s and I was sort of going that route also but the ORBX stuff, some are very nice addon like I also use UK2000, but my concern is what is compatible with one and another.

    There is a lot of nice stuff out there but kind of hard sometime to figure out what is and what is not working together. There is a lot of review some mention it but a lot don’t .

    Like ORBX has FTX regions and they have airport addon also, according to there site some stuff as to be setup in order to work with the other software.

    A bit of light in this would be nice, I also was reading your blog on the order to load a fresh install of FSX onto a new setup.

    Thanks,
    Mario

    Like

    1. Hi Mario,
      UTX and GEX are compatible with Orbx stuff as long as they are put under Orbx entries. REX is more about environment and it is compatible with Orbx stuff too. I have all these addons installed and I don’t have any problem using them.
      I normally disable UTX while I am flying in Orbx regions cause I don’t find much differences with it enabled. UTX won’t have much influence as far as I found.
      GEX is more about slope and some geographical characteristics. Once it is installed, you can’t disable it since it directly replaces many default FSX files during installation. If you have it already, it doesn’t hurt. If you don’t (same to UTX), you could run the Orbx stuff first to see how it works in your area.
      As mentioned in some of my Posts, Orbx stuff are good but they are not perfect. Some airport addons are even poor in performance even though they look good.
      I’ve been busy on some personal matters these days. Feel free to send me email should you need some discussion on your new setup, I’ll do my best to reply in earliest possible.
      Tom

      Like

  2. Tom, Is there a way to turn off UTX Alaska where it overlaps Orbex without turning it off across the state. I fly in the Orbex BC and Alaska but want to keep UTX on in the rest of the area.

    UTX makes such a difference to the default scenery that I want to keep it.

    Like

    1. Hi Dale, there is no way to fulfill your objective in just one scenery.CFG. That’s why I split my system into a number of flying zones so that each zone could have its own scenery.CFG which includes customized sceneries accordingly.
      In fact, UTX Alaska is a good one to go with Orbx’s Pacific Fjords and FSAddon’s Tongass. I just removed the UTX USA/Canada entries from the scenery.CFG customized for Orbx’s areas.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.