564: A Quick Impression on P3Dv5

I ran the new P3Dv5 for a few hours this morning with many addons (such as Orbx scenery and Carenado Aircraft) I used on P3Dv4.  As expected, it didn’t give me too much excitment, including the new logo and the new design of the option menu in the program, for which I am well prepared from what I experienced from the company’s previous updates in about every two years.

But to be fair, there are still many improvements and some are very nice indeed,
for example the Enhanced Atmoshperics feature, from which I get the sky color tone on my HDTV more true to the reality.  This is the first time from all the flight simulators I’ve ever played so far. Of course, your mileage may vary.

Unfortunately, the feature is still under beta test for the moment.  Some weather themes are not supported, such as no showing of rains, etc.

In terms of performance, the new version works a bit smoother on my PC. Although the gain doesn’t reflect in framerates, I could easily sense the improvement when flying over crowded urban areas — I am having 1 x 65-inch and 2 x 49-inch HDTVs in my setup.

Do I recommend it ?

Yes, if you are users of Prepar3D.

But really, there’s no need to rush for it since many third-party addons are still preparing for it.

For example, the FSUIPC 6 (upgrade free is required), which is needed to run many addons in P3Dv5, is still not available by the time I was writing this post. The developer said the shopkeeper might still haven’t come back from the Easter Holiday even though he had already sent him the file.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.