436: My PD3v4 Setting Up #02 – FSX Aircraft Migration

This post is originally the first aritcle in the “My P3Dv4 Setting Up” series.   However, since I do normally perform the configuration back up mentioned in the second article first, I therefore rename this post to #02 and the second post #1.   Publishing time adjusted as well to reflect the proper order.

As stated in the About FSX Times of this blog, my goal is to achieve a stable flight simulation system performance with a minimum 30 fps in average.   Luckily, I’ve been able to achieve that goal with some compromises.   But unluckily, that 30-something fps level also acts like a barrier that stops me from passing.

I am not sure yet whether the 64-bit P3Dv4 and my new hardware would help break this spell for good.   But the 120 to 210 fps initially gained from the new system without any tuning seems like a promising start.

As the hardware side of my new cockpit is still not ready, I’ll take it slowly to install addons and to finetune the system.

During the process, I will post what I do and what I add to the system as this blog is practically the location where I keep records of my exploration in the flight sim world after all.

Besides FSUIPC5, so far I only added a few frequently used aircraft from FSX to PD3v4 (which was installed on a dedicated SSD drive P:\).

  • Aircreation 582SL
  • Cessna C172SP
  • DG808S
  • DHC2 Beaver

The addings of the first three aircraft were just simple copies and pastes from FSX’s “SimObjects\Airplanes” folder to P3D’s “SimObjects\Airplanes” folder.

For the DHC2 Beaver, the process was a little bit complicated.

In P3D, there is a folder called “DeHavilland_Beaver_DHC2” for the airplane already.   However, the aircraft is only used as AI or in missions.  It will not show in the airplane menu.

Since the folder of the flyable Beaver in FSX is called “DeHavilland_Beaver_DHC2” as well, I therefore needed to rename it so as not to mix it up with the files already in P3D.

I use “DeHavilland_Beaver_DHC2_MS” for differentiation.

In addition, as the title names of the FSX Beaver in the aircraft.cfg file cannot be called the same as the one in used in P3D, I’ve changed the title names in the FSX Beaver aircraft.cfg file as follows:

  • from “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 Paint1” to “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 MS Paint1
  • from “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 Paint2” to “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 MS Paint2
  • from “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 Paint” to “title=DeHavilland Beaver DHC2 MS Paint

Furthermore, in order to have P3D to recognize the different textures of the FSX Beaver, I also duplicated the “Texture” folder and named it “Texture.0“; and assigned “0” to “texture=” in the [fltsim.2] portion of the aircraft.cfg.  Otherwise, all three Beavers will be shown in white color.

In general, most FSX airplanes can be easily migrated to P3D.   If not, above approach helps fix the issue most of the time.

Lastly, after the copying, I made an Acronis True Image backup of the System and the P3D drives so that it can be used as a restore point just in case.

 

 

Leave a Reply

