News: Prepar3D 64-bit is Coming Finally

Lockheed Martin has just announced that Prepar3D v4 will be public released on May 30.  And finally it is 64-bit.

The company says that the new version will completely change the simulation landscape with a comprehensive baseline update to a 64-bit architecture.   Higher resolution visuals, more objects, increased data precision, larger scenarios, and improved performance are now all possible at levels never seen before in the product’s history.

No information about whether we current users need to pay for the update or not.   The company says more details will be released over the next week with Prepar3D v4 being directly available from Prepar3D.com on May 30, 2017 at 2:00pm EST.

 

 

14 thoughts on “News: Prepar3D 64-bit is Coming Finally

  1. Kudos to all you pioneering early adopters. However I think I will wait for Prepar3D V5. There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of add-ons right now except for ported over 32 bit stuff. Pete Dowson has FSUIPC5 available (can’t even buy the registered version at the moment). Can’t find any must have v4 native aircraft either. ORBX global/regions are available (port overs) but no airports.

    My boxed FSX is working rather well so definitely will wait for a more refined V5 and hopefully some worthwhile add-ons.

    PS Tom good luck with your cockpit project :)

    Like

    1. Surely no need for changing when you have set up your system properly and especially you are happy with it. I am scratching my head about when I can put everything back on track — it probably takes months.

      I need the luck. Thanks Jack.

      Like

    2. That’s your decision of course. I have been using Prepard3d4 since day one and never returned to my well-equipped Prepard3d3 since, not to speak FSX:SE . Given the proper hardware (I bought an EVGA 1080 Ti / 11GB for it) the visual quality is so much better than anything before. I can cope with having to wait for a few addons to catch up. What is available already keeps me busy longer than I have time for simming anyway :-( Actually, I am surprised about the pace addon makers having been preparing their upgrades in the background. And nearly all of them are free!

      Like

      1. That’s very tempting, Michael. I should speed up my process of setting up the new computer, even without putting everything back on track. ;)

        Like

    1. Much better than I expected Hans, kind of feel a bit sorry for Dovetails FSW that is also 64 bit based on the same old engine and I have to wonder if there was some inside knowledge going on when both titles were released so close of same time, albeit one is early access and the other a more mature version of same old engine!

      Its good for us simmers though and I’ll try support both company’s.

      Hans, I guessed you were German with your recent language slip, lived in Germany 3 years myself and loved it there, back home in North Scotland for good now though, looking forward to ORBX Germany South because where I lived in Geilenkirchen is just out of reach of the current ORBX North Germany volume :)

      I’m liking the look of the wind flow tree’s in P3Dv4 … but maybe a big frame rate hit, a nice detail for the kind of flying I like to do though, less dense than the old tree’s but good that its apparently optional and you can choose between the two types.

      I think finally and at last P3Dv4 will start becoming my platform of choice now in all my often PC builds and like FS9 I will soon be bidding good night to FSX Acceleration and even FSX Steam in future PC builds.

      These are good times.

      Like

  2. At last, and it looks like the waiting has been worthwhile, 64 bit was expected, but some great new features too, have no doubt this will be full price but I’m thinking fair enough for this version, I’m in :)

    Like

  3. I don’t recall the source, but we’ll have to pay as with all major versions so far (which I’ll gladly do). There are rumors on a trial version but this has to be confirmed. In any case, LM has a time-limited money-back guarantee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

