COCKPIT: RACEGUY (FA40, USA)

(Updates added at End of Post – Aug-11, 2017)
Received a post comment from Ed Gilbert (aka Raceguy) about his P-51D cockpit that he has been working on for the last two years.   He said that the project is about to complete sometime this week.   I can’t help to say “wow!”

The photos are originally posted on the A2A Forum.  I have sought his permission to re-post the photos here.

Frankly, whenever I look at the cockpit pictures from FSX Times friends who shared with us here, I always feel the excitement and am deeply touched by the time, the effort, and the sweat (probably blood as well) they put onto our common passions in flight simulation.   Thank you Raceguy.   Thank you all.

Builder: Ed Gilbert aka Raceguy
Location: New Port Richey, Fl, USA
ICAO: FA40 Hidden Lake Airport












Project Notes:
This is a full scale P-51D cockpit that measures 38″ wide by 69″ long by 50″ tall. A 46″ LCD is the main screen viewed using TrackIR. A 27″ LCD is behind a Lexan template with 6 encoders for the main instruments. A 7″ LCD is mounted below the MIP for the oxygen gauges and two more 7″ LCD’s on the floor display the wing fuel tanks.

I made all of the components except the vintage radio from wood, plastic or metal. The radio was modified to work as in the real Mustang through the USB’s. There are 130 buttons and switches connected to 8 Desktop Aviator USB boards.

Due to A2A running their gauges outside of FSX I used Air Manager to run them on the second screen.

The engine controls connect to two slider potentiometers and a rotary switch and the stick is a Saitek AV8R that I extended with PVC pipe fittings. The fuel selector plate was 3D printed by Shapeways.

I removed the landing gear lever and ignition switch from a Saitek Switch panel replacing those items with buttons and 3 pots and mounting the box in place of a gunsight.

The Saitek gear mechanism is inside the trim console behind the red landing gear lever and the ignition switch is now mounted in the center control box.

Feedback from Ed:
Your comment about sweat and blood is really accurate today.  I am working on the last few control setups and they are driving me crazy!   Oh well, my wife told me I could retire early IF I found something to keep me busy.  I have met and exceeded that goal the last two years.

Aug-11, 2017 Update


The cockpit is now in the house and running FSX quite well.  I do plan to move to P3D when A2A updates their P-51 to 64bit.

I was not completely happy with my my i7 4770 performance so I ordered a new system from Jetline Systems here in Florida.  They build PC’s exclusively for the flight sim community and professional simulation trainers.

I purchased their GT2 with some updates for my cockpit.  I had them add two extra GPU’s to power my MIP and three 7 inch LCD’s used for the 2 fuel and one O2 gauges.  The 1070 powers the main 46 inch screen.

Here is my system:
Windows 10 Professional (64-Bit)
Chassis:  Cooler Master Storm Scout II
Motherboard:  Gigabyte Aorus Z270x Gaming 5, LGA 1151
Processor:Intel 7th Gen Core i7 7700K (4.8GHz Overclock) Quad Core CPU
Cooling: Corsair Hydro Series H60 Liquid Cooling System
Memory:  16GB Kingston DDR4 SDRAM 2400MHz
Graphics Processor main:  8GB Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070, PCI Express 3.0
Graphics Processor aux:   2 extra GTX 730
System Power:  750 Watt Corsair RM Series Power Supply
Sound Card:  7.1 High Definition Integrated Audio
Primary SSD:  500GB Samsung EVO 850 (SSD)
Secondary Hard Drive:  1TB WD Black 7200 RPM
Optical Drive:  20x DVD/CD Burner Drive
Networking:  Integrated High Speed Network Ready (10/100/1000)

The two photos of the pit show its current state.  The external screen is used to display the weather radar and moving map.  The pic only shows the radar as I fly around the Tampa Fl area during our daily PM thunderstorms.

Also, the pic with the sim running is taken from the pilots perspective so you can see my view when flying.

 

 

2 thoughts on “COCKPIT: RACEGUY (FA40, USA)

Leave a Reply

