411: FIP Knobs Not Working Fix

I sometimes receive questions asking me “Why the knobs on one of my FIPs don’t work?   They used to be working fine.”

It is a bug in the Saitek driver.   When the SaiFlightSimX.xml builds up to a certain number (most likely over 15 from my experience), the knob command assigned to the last gauge (or the last two gauges)  becomes not functioning.

Suggested fixes are follows:

  1. Move a gauge (or two gauges, or even more) that doesn’t have knob assignments to the end of the list.
  2. If solution 1 doesn’t work, further reorder the gauges in the SaiFlightSimX.xml.   It might help.
  3. If both 1 and 2 don’t help, you’ll probably need to cut down the number of gauges in the SaiFlightSimX.xml.

I neither have found the real cause nor a single workable solution to this problem yet.

But solution 1 suggested above works most of the time.   If not, solution 3 might end up to be the last resort.

==========

Lastly, I am building up a Common FAQs section regarding FIP gauges in my store.   Hope they help.

 

3 thoughts on “411: FIP Knobs Not Working Fix

  1. Tom,

    I find that it helps to make separate Profiles for your “Clean”, and “Extended” gauges. I’ve got 14 FIPS’s so it really helps.

    The only problem I do run into is using the Gauge Switcher numerous times causing a Out Of Memory in FSX. But since I don’t switch profiles very often, it’s not a big deal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

