361: GaugeSwitcher Update

During my recent system recovery, many trivial issues found on my computer before the crash are also fixed.  That’s a good thing.  But unfortunately, there are new little issues coming up that didn’t exist before.

For example, I used to leave my Switch Panel, Radio Panel and Multi-Panel with power-on all the time, so that whenever I start the simulator, they could be put in operation immediately.   But now, I have to load the simulator first and then plug in the USB hub on which the Panels are connected.  Otherwise, the display on the Multi-Panel won’t turn on.  Fix is yet to come.

Another issue is also Saitek related.

The SaiFlightFip.xml that holds the gauge assignment information is now also exist under the “C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Saitek\ProFlight FSX Plugin” folder.

In the past, the file was created in the “C:\Program Files (x86)\Saitek\ProFlight FSX Plugin” location only.

The situation is similar to the Edit Note I described in Post 306 — I don’t have a clue why it behaves this way because all the drivers and files I am using are the exact copies from the system before the crash.

Anyway, since my GaugeSwitcher utility was developed in accordance with the “C:\Program Files (x86)\Saitek\ProFlight FSX Plugin” location and now the scenario has changed, I just have to made an update accordingly.   However, with this update, no matter if the SaiFlightFip.xml is appearing at only one or both directories, the fix will take care of it.

In addition, the utility can now create up to 50 profiles instead of 40 in the past. GaugeSwitcherNew02  Furthermore, the associated GaugeCreator can also be called up directly by moving the mouse cursor to the lower left corner of the GaugeSwitcher.

BUT do note that this update was created under Windows 10 environment.   Not sure if it is required or functions the same under Windows 7.   Edit: Tested and it works on Windows 7 as well.

Lastly, pardon me that I am not going to send out this update voluntarily.

If you are a current user of my GaugeSwitcher and need the update, contact me by email or notify me via the Comment section below.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “361: GaugeSwitcher Update

  1. Hi Tom, I’d like to know how to have the shortest response time when displaying on the FIP. More possibilityof displaying I have in the saiflihtsimx .exe, more the response time is increasing.
    regards.CH

    Like

    1. Hi Christian,
      Yes, the more you add to your file, the more it lags. You can change the value of to a smaller value such as 50, as described in my Post 209.
      In addition, deleting unused gauge entries from the file also help.
      Search for FIP or Gauge Timeout in my blog will also show you more information about FIP.
      Best
      Tom

      Like

Leave a Reply

