292: Standalone Gauges Status Update

The fine-tuning works for the Standalone C172 Gauges have finally been completed.   All instruments are now centered on the FIP and take up the whole area (320 x 240) without leaving any spaces on the left hand side for the displaying of any button commands.

In addition, none of the extra features found on the previous Integrated Series are added to these gauges, so that they could resemble and function as realistic as possible to the instruments in the real cockpit.

C172-ALL-GaugesC
Click me to Enlarge — Note the Airspeed Indicator is a new redrawn with temperature window on its top

However, there were feedbacks expressing that trim wheel and wing flaps indicators shouldn’t be ignored, especially on those systems using Multi Panels and Trim Wheels from Saitek.  Because their operation statuses cannot be judged easily from mere physical appearances.

Some suggest to put these two indicators plus other extra features onto a separate FIP.   I tended to agree with this approach despite the fact that I was (still am) reluctant to invest another $150 worth of hardware for such purpose only.

The idea was finally dropped, nevertheless.   Because the logical placement of the current layout was unavoidably damaged by this extra FIP.  At least, I am not able to find an ideal location to accommodate it yet.

In the end, I put these two indicators onto the RPM and ADF gauges respectively, due to their locations in the lowest part of the overall instrument layout, plus their close proximity next to the trim wheel and flaps lever in the real cockpit.

C172_Trim_Flaps
Click me to see Full Setup

The matching looks pretty good to me.  But if someone finds them excessive or even offensive in their cockpit arrangement, there will be an option allowing them to exclude the two indicators during installation of the gauges.  Surely, they could be restored anytime.

Regarding the price, it will be $10.0 each.   It is half the price of the Integrated Gauge Series.  But do remember that one will need another four pieces of FIP hardware in order to complete a full instrument setup, which might amount to an extra $500 more than the Integrated Gauge Series requires.

I myself, for example, currently run a mixed setup with Standalone and Integrated Gauges to limit the total number of FIP used.  Of course, I have to sacrifice a bit on the cockpit realism as a result.

Also, the Integrated Fuel Gauges enclosed in red rectangle shown above doesn’t belong to the Standalone Series.

At the moment, I am working on the shopping cart and installer for the new Gauge Series.  I predict the work will be done by the end of next week.

Here’s the Pre-Sale link for the full bundle, in which an extra 10% discount is offered to the early birds.   The link will last until the installer is done.

By the way, the Integrated Fuel Gauges demonstrated above is an adaptation to the Standalone Series.   Those who purchase the new Gauge bundle in full will get a 50% discount if they want to include the Fuel Gauges as well.

Existing users of the Fuel Gauges will receive an update (or more precisely a variation) for free shortly.

26 thoughts on “292: Standalone Gauges Status Update

  1. Similar to the “trim wheel and wing flaps indicators shouldn’t be ignored” argument, let me also suggest the aileron and rudder trims as well. Yes, not worth adding an extra FIP. And yes, the trick is finding which gauge to add them to, and doing it in a clean, clear way. [I’m in the “standalone gauge” camp.]

    Justification: I had them on my previous C172 integrated engine panel design from Philippe Verhaege, and they came in handy as part of a pre-flight “making sure they are centered” check, then in-flight for a check on how much trim was added.

    Tom, you’ve got the “integrated gauge” experience and instincts, I yield to your insights.
    However, you’re really overloaded now, and we’re very grateful for the recent C172 gauge polishing you’ve done — it really helps in reading them quickly and clearly.

    I’ll “help myself” with a single, simple, horizontal scaled window with a split needle — upper is A(ileron) and lower is R(udder). TBD for which gauge, size, position, linear / logarithmic, etc. but worth trying different variations to find a good functional and aesthetic solution..

    Like

    1. Hi Jim,
      Since the C172 doesn’t come with the aileron and rudder trim, so they were not implemented into the C172 gauge. But the new B58 and A36 have these features, so they will included in the new ones to come.
      Which airplane that needs these features are you referring to ?
      Tom

      Like

      1. It’s the C172, Tom. [As I understand it, only the later models had rudder trim, and no models had aileron trim.] For me, it’s for the learning experience, especially since P3D supports these trims.

        That said, seems Saitek has the elevator trim wheel, but no rudder [or aileron] trim wheels. Hence I’m “substituting” the electric trim buttons on the Saitek Cessna yoke.
        (Good news, these trim switches work well in P3D…including as I mentioned, the undesirable but realistic effects when inadvertently set before take-off. Correcting the severe veering was definitely a learning experience!)

        Like

  2. Hi Tom, I noticed the VOR1 gauge is not responsive to the GPS when in GPS navigation mode (GPS/NAV toggle => GPS). For example during an RNAV approach. This can also be tested during the realityXP Garmin 530 bootup were the flags are supposed to be half up and half left. The default VOR1 gauge works as expected. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Select the default cessna at (14S) airport

      Test VOR mode (this works)
      – NAV/GPS toggle should be on NAV
      – Tune NAV1 to HQM (117.7)
      – you should be on the 128 radial
      – i.e center the CDI needle
      – reading at top will be ~128
      – with FROM flag

      Test GPS mode (Does not work. You will need realityXP 530 gauge to test, haven’t tried with other gauges)
      – NAV/GPS toggle should be on GPS
      – select direct to KHQM in realityXP 530
      – Take off and fly to KHQM
      – It will ask you to tune to a heading of 042
      – the CDI needle will move accordingly to guide you to KHQM on that heading.

      In the VOR1 XML flle you have these two lines and the VOR mode described above works as expected but GPS mode does not work.
      (A:ELECTRICAL MASTER BATTERY)1 == (A:AVIONICS MASTER SWITCH)1 == (A:GPS DRIVES NAV1)0 != if{(A:NAV1 CDI, number) 6 /%}
      (A:ELECTRICAL MASTER BATTERY)1 == (A:AVIONICS MASTER SWITCH)1 == (A:GPS DRIVES NAV1)0 != if{(A:NAV1 GSI, number)%}

      If I change these lines to the following, the VOR mode does not work but the GPS mode works. (Notice the only change is the “!=” to “==”)
      (A:ELECTRICAL MASTER BATTERY)1 == (A:AVIONICS MASTER SWITCH)1 == (A:GPS DRIVES NAV1)0 == if{(A:NAV1 CDI, number) 6 /%}
      (A:ELECTRICAL MASTER BATTERY)1 == (A:AVIONICS MASTER SWITCH)1 == (A:GPS DRIVES NAV1)0 == if{(A:NAV1 GSI, number)%}

      Hope this helps describe the issue. Let me know if you need any other details. There are other workarounds but one should be able to use VOR1 for both VOR and GPS navigation. The default VOR1 gauge from saitek works as expected in both modes without any changes required.

      Like

      1. My implementation is based on the C172SP. If you look at the gauge on it, VOR1 works under NAV ONLY. So Dan, do you mean you want VOR1 active all the time no matter it is under GPS or NAV?

        Haven’t you tried taken “A:GPS DRIVES NAV1)0 !=” this out?

        Tom

        Like

  3. Hey, Tom. I just purchased your C172 Gauge Pack. Looking forward to using them as a part of my flight simulator cockpit rebuild. Now if I could just entice you to do the same for the C182. Add a Davtron digital clock/O.A.T/Volts display and vertical card compass for both planes and my life would be complete! I’ve got 15 FIPs to fill up. I would gladly spend another $60 (or whatever your charge would be) to complete my set. Thanks for your quality gauges! I love your attention to detail. James

    Like

    1. Hi James,
      Glad to hear that you like my works. Could you send me image captures of the gauges you mentioned? I’ll see what I can do. But note that it may take awhile since you know my time mostly tie with my grandson on weekdays.
      Tom

      Like

  4. Saitek would do well to license your gauges Tom. All the doubt-sayers who have looked down on those useless gauges will be eating their words I should think.

    Anyway, I think the way you have shown in the graphic is the way I will go for now. I kinda like the combination gauge and leaves me one spare FIP. Now what is your plan for that or should it be the Garmin? hmm……….

    Rick S.

    Like

    1. Thank you Rick. What about a full-scale Wet Compass with Announciator Panel, OMI and Sounds Indicators? That should be the next one to fill up the gap which I missed in the first place.
      By the way, checked your gmail. I sent something to you last week and just wanted to check if you’ve got it.
      Tom

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Question Tom, and this might already be covered but I am old….

      With the new gauge packs; will we be able to program the FIP buttons without lighting them up (I hope)? If not, are they useable at all, as I do like the proximity and abilities they provide. I would not want to use them if they take up any real estate from your new gauges.

      Thanks
      Rick S.

      Like

      1. Yes, you still can program the FIP buttons. The button will light up when it is used. Actually, I have also assigned some functions to them in the new Gauges. For example, the last two buttons (5 and 6) on the Heading Indicator are assigned to reset the Gyro and the Heading Marker.
        You can assign functions to all FIP buttons. Just no text display for the commands.
        Tom

        Like

  5. Hi Tom,
    As always beautiful craftsmanship. Your gauges, no matter which type one would pick, looking great. Was already sold but now even more.
    Guess I’ll go single, if and when start build the cockpit. Time is more the issue in this case.

    Like

  6. Thanks,Tom, already sold. While I was uncertain on some items, I think you made very good decisions. I can’t go beyond my 9 FIPs either, it’s just what fits into my panel. Anyway, the gauges look superb, I am fine with your decision on flaps/trim. Given I fly VFR most of the time anyway, I might just omit the VORs/OBI, or make a mixed configuation with the integrated gauges as you are doing. Kind regards, Michael

    Like

Leave a Reply

