291: Standalone Gauges Preview

Here are the preview images of the standalone C172 Gauges.    Although they are, in theory, the extractions from the current Integrated Gauge Series, C172-ALL-Gauges-ANImany of the artworks and layouts are newly drawn.  So do some programming for optimization.

At present, all these standalone gauges are taking up the full footprint (320 x 240) of the Flight Instrument Panel (FIP).   All knobs and buttons work as they should be.

Two things are yet to be decided:

1.)
Should I leave some spaces on the left for the displaying of the button commands?

The default font is so big and ugly.   But hiding them all up is a kind of waste and inconvenience.   Perhaps a one-off customization be given to the users?

C172-ALL-Gauges
Click me to Enlarge

2.)
Should additional features be added to the gauges?

For example, the optional True Airspeed (TAS) on the AirSpeed Indicator, Above Ground Level (AGL) on the Altimeter, Wind Direction indicators on the Heading Gyro, etc, as implemented on the Integrated Series.

Certainly, there are advantages and disadvantages to the adding of them.   For instance, I had no idea what the trim level is and whether the flaps are down or not, while I was running the test.

Anyway, these 10 new gauges + the revised Integrated Fuel Gauges are to be released within the next couple of week, if everything works on track.

Noted that these gauges are not free but they should be a lot less than the Integrated Series.   Moreover, there will be bundle discounts, and perhaps pre-sale discounts if anyone is interested.

==========

By the way, in the current version of the Altimeter with VOR (ALVOR) gauges, the glide slope on the VOR 1 doesn’t turn itself off, when flight mode changes from NAV to GPS.  On the contrary, VOR 2 shuts itself off when GPS is on.

The errors had been spotted when I was working on the standalone versions.   Users of the gauges should have received the corrected XML file in their mailboxes now.

 

 

15 thoughts on “291: Standalone Gauges Preview

  1. Hi Tom

    I already told you, I am a bit undecided on these questions, too. However I would certainly not like to see the flaps indicator omitted, wherever it will be. Putting it together with some more functionality on a separate gauge might indeed be a way. Perhaps you have a rough idea how much FIPs your average user has (I have 9 – just what I can fit into my XTOP panel) and try to optimize for that number.

    Kind regards, Michael

    Like

    1. Noted Michael. Those flaps and trim indicators are indeed important. Still not sure where and how to put them. As suggested, putting extra functions on a separate FIP is one solution. The other would be a mix with some of my integrated gauges. I found this quite appropriate too.
      Tom

      Like

  2. Hey Tom!

    Some great gauges here… my thoughts on having the button on the left, I kind of like it. As a pilot IRL, it just reminds me of how things look in the airplane, though I do agree with the FIP’s two dials it’s just for show :-) . As far as trim level… in all honesty, it’s more realistic NOT to have an indicator telling you “+7.5” or “-10.” In flight, you just trim the plane to where you need it to be, with the exception of TO, you don’t trim it for a particular numerical setting. As far as flaps, that I do find helpful, since I don’t have the VC set up to where I can see the flaps switch, it’s nice to just glance at the gauge to see how much flaps I put out!

    Great work all around!
    – Alex

    Like

    1. Hi Alex,
      Thanks for the note and it’s a kind of mixed feeling about having the space on the left or not. I am kind of inclining to do without it and put the extra features on a separate FIP, anyway.
      You are correct that it’s no need to show digital indication for trim level at all.
      Tom

      Like

  3. WOW, Love the look. When I first looked at this post I said this is exactly what I wanted. Then I read your comments and found you made a lot of sense talking about what should be integrated; ie: TAS, Trim, Flaps etc. I have become dependent on those in your current gauge sets.

    As far as the buttons go, I really like the full screen appearance without the buttons but again there could be a time and place for them. Is it possible to have the button functionality without taking up screen space to describe the action? That way we could decide individually what we did with them. Would it be possible to not have the button lit but still be functional; maybe a user decision on whether to light the button or not?

    Dang, I only have 12 FIP’s; I might need to go buy a few more now.

    Whatever you do, sign me up Tom.

    Thanks
    Rick S.

    Like

    1. Hi Rick, you are right. I rely on those extra functions as well. It’s a tough decision to go without them.
      There’s no doubt that I prefer the whole screen layout. Regarding the buttons, we can still use their functions without showing their text. The buttons will lit up when commands are assigned
      I will put some of the commands on the images, for example resetting the heading gyro or heading bug, etc.
      Or just a thought, will you be willing to pay a few bucks for putting commands you want onto the gauge images? It’s a kind of specialized customization service.
      Tom

      Like

  4. In answer to your questions, I would not leave space for displaying button commands. It would not be realistic. I am able to switch them off, but the gauges would not be centered. If the customization would leave the gauges centered, that would be okay.

    On #2, additional features should not be added because it’s not realistic. Such features do not exist on the standard panel in a 172.

    Otherwise, they look great and I’m in!

    Like

    1. I kinda agree with you Brian but in a real cockpit we can see the trim wheel and the flap lever indicating the level of deployment. I don’t think we should go wild with multi-functionality but there are some things that would make the experience more lifelike.

      Like

      1. Yeah. Brian also suggests to put things like the flap position indicator and trim indicator onto another FIP. That’s the direction I am thinking about so as to meet the requirements from both sides. Just need to think about the layout and logic of putting the extra functions together.

        Like

      2. How about trim, flaps and the 3 warning lights (vac, alt, oil) on one FIP. That would complete the basic cockpit picture using the standalone approach.

        Like

      3. Okay, sounds good; Now how many more FIP’s do I need…hmmmmmm.

        What to I tell the “War Department”? Hey “Whatshername” (yep she answers to that) you know that trip you wanted to take, well there’s this guy that does gauges………………………

        Rick S.

        Like

Leave a Reply

