257: A Quick Cloud Rendering Guide

Among all the practical features that P3D excels FSX, cloud rendering is on the very top of my list.   In just a few steps, clouds could be changed dramatically as shown below.

CloudP3D

The key to this change is the thickness of the Cumulus cloud.

To get the result in the example 2 shown above, all I need to do is extending the Tops of the Cumulus cloud from 6,700 feet to 12,000 feet.

CloudP3D-02a

By further varying the settings of the

  • Tops
  • Base
  • Cloud coverage

in the Advanced Weather menu, plus the Cloud coverage density in the general weather setting menu, one could easily get stunning cloud results.

CloudP3D-03

Click to enlarge the following examples to see the results with different Cloud coverage density.

CloudP3D-04
Cloud Coverage Desnity – Medium
CloudP3D-05
Cloud Coverage Desnity – High
CloudP3D-06
Cloud Coverage Desnity – Maximum
3 thoughts on “257: A Quick Cloud Rendering Guide

  1. “Among all the practical features that P3D excels FSX, cloud rendering is on the very top of my list.”

    Not really, install REX 4 with a good third party weather engine and you’ll know what I mean.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on mrussell554 and commented:
    I use active sky on a second PC so I thought I dont really need this, However when I take my sim out and about, not having to set up a network would be a time saver and I get this better looking sky for demo. Great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

