250: New Gauges – Sorry, Not Free

Time flies.  The next Anniversary of FSX Times is coming in two months.   FSX Times will be four years old.

In the note for the last Anniversary day, I mentioned that it’s very likely that I would set up a Donation link for my blog so that I could get some free cups of coffee while sharing my hours of works and creations for the flight simulation friends.

Unfortunately, Paypal’s requirements towards oversea donation uses are harsh.   In my country, only registered charity organizations would get their approvals.

Since I’ve developed many gauges for the flight instrument panel (FIP) users for free for years, I believe it shouldn’t be irritating if I charge a small price for some of the new gauges that are complex and time-consuming to build.   Updates to these gauges, of course, will be free and be on high priority.

Previously released gauges are continued to be free for FSX Times subscribers who request them.  And there will be new free gauges to come as well.   In addition, earlier versions of these paid-gauges in the future will be discounted or might eventually be given away to subscribers for free after a period of time.

Followings are the two new integrated gauges about to complete.   They are based on the Cessna 172, in particular the default SP model.

The new Altimeter will have the two navigation VORs included, in addition to the NAV/GPS indicator.

Click me to Enlarge
C172 Altimeter with VOR1 and VOR2 plus NAV/GPS indicator

The third navigation gauge ADF will be on the new Vertical Speed Indicator, which also comes with graphically refined Wing Flaps and Trim indications.

Click me to Enlarge
C172 Vertical Speed Indicator with ADF plus Wing Flaps & Trim Wheel Indicators

Preview images above are shown in full-scale as on the actual FIPs.    For finer details, click on the images.

At present, prices for these two gauges have not been decided but will very likely be in the range from 10 to 20 USD each, depending on their built complexity.

Frankly, you won’t see me getting rich from these gauges but you might save the purchase for another three FIPs, which could total more than 400 USD.

The little price tag serves me and FSX Times more as a symbolic encouragement really.

More details will be announced later.

Comments are welcome.   Tell me what you think.

49 thoughts on “250: New Gauges – Sorry, Not Free

  1. Hi Tom, I was wondering if you have had the experience of saving the view setting to display the gauges in the same spot every time you load the FSX for a Saitek panel.

    Best regards
    Ghassan

    Like

    1. Hello Tom, For either the individual VOIR 1 and VOR 2 or the new combo that you show here a charge between $10 and $20 is reasonable. However you do not mention how you intend to receive the payment since PayPal is not possible? I have been and still am looking fur these two gsuges. Let me know what amount per gauge and how you want to receive the money. An idea for you to explore. Open a current or savings account at any major USA bank issue the routing and account # to those who wish to pay you. They can deposit the fund electronically into your account. Actually can be done at any recognised banking site

      Thx

      Gulam Harji, P. Eng, MBA, General Manager, Hood Packaging Corporation, Industrial Plastics Group

      Like

      1. Hi Gulam,
        What a coincident that I am writing a new post regarding the new gauges which are to be release by next week. Yes, will be using PayPal as it is the most convenience way regarding small payment. Am
        trying to set up a payment link. Price will be $20 each.
        Thanks for interest.
        Tom

        Like

      2. Tom, I would like to be one of your first customer for three gauges. Two individual VOIR 1 and 2 and one the new combo. Keep me posted in the details. $20 each is fine with me for a total of $60 for all three , unless the VOR 1 and 2 are a common software and install and you only need one purchase. Then the total cost will be $40. Let me know. Thx

        Gulam Harji, P. Eng, MBA, General Manager, Hood Packaging Corporation, Industrial Plastics Group

        Like

      3. Thank you Gulam. THe 2 VORs and ADF will be integrated into the Altimeter and VSI respectively as explained in the post. There might be individual versions for the VORs and ADF in the future but not sure yet.
        Tom

        Like

  2. I love these new gauges and will purchase them as soon as they are available. They are a great idea instead of having to switch between several gauges. You brought the most used (in my sim anyway) gauges together.

    Like

    1. Thank you Karl. That’s the whole idea of integrating additional gauges onto a single FIP. Not only more accessible but also saves extra cost for the FIP.
      Should be coming soon.
      Tom

      Like

  3. Hi Tom,

    Your gauges look wonderfull, and i surely pay for them. Would you make specific gauges, like for example Beechcraft specific for Duke o Duke Turbine? I’ll pay whatever you consider reasonable.

    Thanks for a great work!

    Like

    1. Hi Juan,
      Never thought about request like yours but it’s possible. You should have my email from the T210 links I sent to you earlier. Give me more details of the specific gauges (better with pics) you want and I’ll get back to you if they could be implemented.
      Tom

      Like

  4. Hi Tom, I am considering installing a small touch panel or VRInsight type of panel for GPS maybe even a glass panel atmosphere. I think you have done some research down that road and wonder where you are today with that thinking.

    Thanks
    Rick S.

    Like

    1. Hi Rick,
      Sorry for late replying. I haven’t had any further progress on the GPS yet after the trying of touch screen not long ago. Due to the lack of driver, touch screen seems not a good solution.
      Regarding module from VRInsight or Desktop Aviator, both priced similarly and not cheap. Feature and appearance wise, VRI is better but it requires a special software while the Desktop Aviator doesn’t. If I have to choose one, I might pick the VRI.
      Regarding apps on pads, I haven’t found a good replacement yet.
      Tom

      Like

      1. Hi Tom,

        I am currently trying out a GPS APP that appears to work well on any Android device (mine is a Nexus 10) and is compatible with FSX and P3D only for now. It is called “flightmap” (one word, and not the other that is two words). After a short free trial one can buy it for US $ 4.99. You have to load the software for the Android and then one on the PC. Instructions for each are clear as is the related video.

        https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vrs.flightmap

        Hope this helps,

        Gulam Harji, P.Eng., MBA,
        General Manager,
        Industrial Plastics Group
        Hood Packaging Corporation,

        Like

  5. Hello Tom,
    I am a total novice to FSX (or X-Plane). I do have both softwares installed. I have only just set up a 3 monitor and computer system, which appear to work well for FSX. I have a starter cockpit setting with 6 Saitek gauges, a radio panel, a Multi panel and a switch panel. These, the yoke and the two quadrants are all Saitek and also appear to work well. There is a need to separately turn on OFF and then ON again the Multi panel, before it will stay on. All other instruments come up at start.
    Although I am very new to flight simulation, I have already sensed a need for adding gauges beyond the 6 standard ones. I am willing to pay for a trouble free installation of VOR1, VOR2 and a GPS (if possible and I an shown how it could be done). Is this something you can help me with?
    Thank you,
    Gulam

    Like

    1. Hi Gulam,
      GPS can’t be implemented by FIPs. You can only get a GPS module from flightsim hardware companies such as VRI and Desktop Aviator.
      My approach as you can see is to integrate a few gauges onto a single FIP. This saves money and space without sacrificing performance. The new gauges are basically done but just don’t have time to finetune and package it. It might take a while.
      Tom

      Like

      1. Thank you Tom
        I’ll keep checking for your final package and in the meantime explore the suggested sources for a GPS. Should you wish to sell your currently available VOR1 and VOR 2 gauges please let me know

        Like

  6. Hello Tom, I am surely going to buy them I possess all the others. I hope that they will understand(include) OFF-versions? Which sells door-to-door(canvasses) to obtain them and the price list(rate) to sadden for the paper I use a translator I speak that the Frenchman cordially Alain

    Like

  7. Salut Tom, je vais bien sûr les acheter je possède toutes les autres. J’espère qu’ils comprendront OFF-versions ? quel démarche pour les obtenir et le tarif désoler pour l’écrit j’utilise un traducteur je parle que le Français
    cordialement Alain

    Like

  8. Hi Tom, I think as many of your followers that you did a great job, so a financial contribution sounds to me perfectly acceptable. Regards, Christian.

    Like

  9. Hi Tom

    These two new integrated gauges look well worth paying for, like another user I have 12 FIP’s now though and would prefer single gauges as and when you release them, honestly struggling to think of what to put on the 12th, but I got that final FIP at a bargain price that was hard to refuse :)

    I look forward to your future FIP releases with much anticipation.

    Cheers.

    Colin

    Like

    1. Thank you Colin. I like to have more FIPs as well. But I found integrating some of them togethers on single gauges offers the best results. Surely the customized combo might loose flexibility over individual ones I must admit.
      Will keep you informed when the gauge is out.
      Tom

      Like

  10. Great gauges, as ever, Tom! How about considering a multi-pack for combo’s of paid for gauges – or a mega-lifetime pack that bundles all gauges (paid AND free) with lifetime updates? :)

    Like

    1. Hi Dean,
      Thanks for the feedback and your multi-pack suggestion sounds feasible. I haven’t thought about that so far for the moment.
      In fact, the Post was published by accident. It was not supposed to release so soon.
      Anyway, no worry, all updates will be free and that’s for sure.
      Tom

      Like

  11. These are very cool gauges and certainly worth paying for. Having given the other C172 gauges for free we will be happy to pay for your hard work. Keep it up.

    Like

  12. It’s about time Tom.

    With 12 FIP’s and other Saitek indicators & switches I don’t need a lot of multipurpose gauges but they are very handy. I look forward to you new collections as I am sure there will be something I just can’t live without.

    Rick S.

    Like

  13. Hello Tom,
    I’m ready to donate you (however I don’t use the gauges yet).
    I read your posts very often and your shared settings preserved my nerves many times. :)

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Zoltan. Your positive feedback is the biggest reward to me already.
      Should you still want to give me a donation ;), you could either purchase the new gauges later just in case you might need them in the future or via PayPal to my personal email address as shown in the email.
      Thanks again,
      Tom

      Like

  14. Hello Tom,

    The two new gauges look very sharp and I could see both as useful combo gauges. I would have a difficult time choosing one over the other but I don’t need two altimeters. I think I would make better use of the one with the VOR heads.

    Good luck and congratulations on 4 great years of unique service to the flight sim community.

    Regards,

    Ray

    Like

      1. Sorry, too early in the morning for me – I read the VSI gauge as an Altimeter. Duh. No decision required, I could use both gauges. Nice job.

        Ray

        Like

    1. Your comment that either of the two new gauges will save anyone big bucks should they choose to purchase individual new FIPs instead should hit home. I always prefer the combination gauges over the single use instruments.

      The inclusion of the Nav/GPS indicator should be handy for the C172 flyers.

      Ray

      Like

  15. Hi Tom, with me that’s okay, I’ll sure buy them. I hope they will include OFF-versions? It’s a great little extra when you swich battery on and the instruments turn into life.

    Kind regards, Michael

    Like

Leave a Reply

