236: P3D v2.2 Part 1 – Still No Good ?!

With the launch of the P3D v2.2 on Monday, I did a clean install with the hope that it would bring better performance to the LM platform while solving many of its earlier reported issues, especially the three ghosts that had been haunting my system since the beginning — namely, stutters, Saitek Flight Instrument Panel (FIP) sluggishness and texture blurriness.
P3Dv22-Blurry00

Actually, over the last few weeks, the first ghost, stutters, was in general removed through the increase of the BufferPool to 900 millions as described in Post 234.

The FIP smoothness was also enhanced by assigning the first 2 CPU cores via Set Affinity option under Windows Task Manager.  Similarly, the texture blurriness was improved with the AffinityMask set to 252, which dedicated the last 6 CPU cores for the simulator.

Although it still couldn’t be said ideal, P3D v2.1 at that moment was pretty close to what FSX was performing on my rig. 

Right out of the box, the new version 2.2 has already reached a new height in terms of smoothness and stability even under maximized settings.  FIP smoothness is also enhanced by default, meaning there’s no more need to assign specific CPU cores for it.   What a big improvement!

Unexpectedly, texture blurriness is still terrible.  Many times, it isn’t getting any better but worser than the earlier version after flying for a period of time.   More precisely speaking, the texture becomes extremely blurred when flying away from the range of area or airport where the plane starts.

P3Dv22-Blurry01

In addition, autogen objects in far distance, due to sluggish refresh rate, simply disappear.   Consequently, the plane ends up flying over a blurred land texture with no autogen objects showing at all.

P3Dv22-Blurry02

Based on my last good settings for P3D v2.1, I keep the AfinityMask=252 and PoolSize=900 millions.   Then, many commonly known solver tweaks, such as  Fiber_Frame_Time_Fraction, Texture_Bandwidth_Mult, TextureMaxLoad, etc, have been applied for the blurriness and autogen issues.

Unfortunately, all attempts are in vain.

Hardware of my system remains the same: i7-4770K CPU overclocked to 4.2GHz; three monitors connected to two GTX 780’s in Surround mode under SLI connection.   Besides Orbx’s FTX Global, NA Pacific Northwest and FS Global 2010 FTX, no other addons are installed.

What have I messed up?

Stay tuned for Part 2.

48 thoughts on “236: P3D v2.2 Part 1 – Still No Good ?!

  1. Hi Rick,

    Thank’s for Your feed back, this seems to be rather complicated with all these different sceneries etc. I work with FSglobal 2010 Mesh, as You mention makes the mountain aeries very nice.
    You no, I had this idea that working with FTX ORBX only, would make problems less, but that’s not the case – hi.
    We need ORBX to be here, telling us a little about how these various sceneries are working together. Because as I said before, the golden key are berried in the loading links between these various sceneries.
    It’s like, that the program can’t figure out – which scenery layers to use and in which order to load!
    I have NO tweaks at all in my P3D cfg file, only is Affinity mask set to 252 and works as it should.
    Let’s keep up the good working, and try to learn more about this complex fllightsim.!
    Seems we are the only ones to do the work.
    People who constantly telling us, that it’s all about our PC’s and Graffic Cards, are wrong. as I can’t run a more high end PC as I do right now. It*s annoying to hear, as we all no the problems are something else!
    Let’s hope that some of us will find the solution’s!

    Regards

    Geert

    Like

  2. HI tom,

    Just for Your info,

    Have reinstalled my P3D v2.4 then run it, and all seems to be ok.
    Then installed my ORBX GLOBAL BASE, run my Sim. and all still ok.
    Installed ORBX GLOBAL VECTORS – still ok.
    Installed ORBX FSGLOBAL 2010 – and stil no blurries!! Running from same airport all the time, to be sure what Im doing.
    Also installed MY TRAFFIC P3D – and still very fine with FPS abt, 50 – 80.
    HAVE NOT deleted the shader files in between the start up!!!!!!!

    Will now run with this for a couple of days, to se wheter this is to be true or false!!
    Then I will install ORBX EUROPE LC, as I’m still sure about shader and the layers in scenery library is the cause to our troubles.

    Finally how do I up load a screen shot to this side, just so You can see how it looks?

    Geert

    Like

    1. Hi Geert,
      Reinstallation is always a good fix to some unknow issues. I did the same many times before. Also I do backups for each stage during installation with Acronis True Image so that I can quickly revert back to where it was good. It saves me a lot of time.
      Haven’t started working on your Shader deletion program yet. Do you still want it if your problem is fixed by your current reinstallation?
      Tom

      Like

      1. Hi Tom,
        Yes please, would like this batch file, just in case!!

        Well, here is what I found out so fare. After in stalling all ORBX GLOBAL an VECTORS etc. All seems nice and dandy. Then I installed GLOBAL LC, EUROPE UK and EU NORWAY. Then the problems start’s again!.
        FTX ORBX have announced that GLOBAL now can run in HYBRID MODE, so that You never have to shift in between various regions.
        But using hybrid mode, seems to be a problem, creating very bad blurry ground texture. Just as the various sceneries are loaded in a wrong order from the lib. layers.
        Going back to EUROPE gives me a clean and beautiful ground scenery.
        Flying from Heathrow with high level of A1 planes gives me a FPS around 45!!.
        Same goes for Norway, but here I have a bit higher FPS.
        Other vice I’m happy with ORBX I think it’s the best I have seen so fare.
        But will now work with this for a while and see if this will be steady! You never no!!
        Later I will install North America, Oceania, NZ South and NZ North again, and hope this also will works without any problems!
        My WX server is OPUS works fine.
        PS. My English writing isn’t that good, but hope You get the meanings of it all!

        Have a nice day.

        Geert

        Like

      2. Hi Geert,
        Yes, you are right that I found similar texture loading issue as you do after Global LC installed but not as serious as you described.
        I am thinking of reinstalling P3D system again and limit to those Orbx areas I fly frequently. Probably I will get rid of Global LC completely.
        Well, that may take awhile when I have more time. Currently my focus is on something else.
        Anyway, will do the batch file for you by next week.

        Like

      3. It may be worth trying to only activate those sceneries you actually use. Usually, I deactivate all OpenLC entries (and all Ultimate Mesh entries) when flying, e.g., in the (ORBX) UK or NZ and to the opposite when flying, e.g., in France. You can do this by hand via renaming several scenery.cfg files, but there are smart tools for managing different profiles like SimStarter, SimLauncherX, or SceneryConfigEditor. This may help keeping things a bit more clean.

        Best regards, Michael

        Like

      4. I think you are on to something Geert, but I see no Global LC in my Scenery Library? I do see ORBIX!OPENLC_EUROPE1, 2, 8, 9, 10; NAMERICA1 & Base.

        Are any of those the one you are talking about?

        It does not seem to matter witch region in FTX Central I choose, every FTX pack I have shows up ticked in the FSX Scenery Library.

        Thanks
        Rick S.

        Like

      5. Hi Rick,
        Yes, those are the files. Since you also have EUROPE LC, so you have other OPENLC_EUROPE as well.
        As long as you have them installed, they will be all checked no matter which region you choose. That’s why I talked about the FlyZone Switcher so as to minimize the loading of unnecessary files. But unfortunately the approach requires more technical skills.
        Tom

        Like

      6. pmb, what does deleting the Ultimate Mesh files do for you? I thought we needed those period?

        Tom, I also thought that using any outside scenery manager would mess up the ORBX stuff?

        I did try unchecking the OPENLC files before flying KPDX, but saw no difference. Wait that is a ORBX Cityscape, could that cloud the changes?

        Rick S.

        Like

      7. I don’t use Ultimate Meshes at all since they have not much effect especially in Orbx regional areas.
        Yes and no to your second question. While you switch to different Orbx regions, some files in autogens are changed as well. If they are taken care of in the first place, you are good.
        It’s because you have the PWN or other NA regions. OPENLC only effects in those areas that don’t have specific Orbx region addons, e.g. the US East Coast, Africa, etc.
        Tom

        Like

      8. Okay, I have figured this out now concerning the problems at John Wayne airport. I still had FTX Central set to NA. I reset that to Global and looked; better but still awful messy. Disabled most all FTX sceneries except vector etc, enabled UTx NA 2.0 and Shazam!. Everything clear and sharp like I would expect.

        As far as Meshes go I would swear that ORBX guys said they used them and recommended them for better visual underlayment for their textures etc?

        Rick S.

        Like

      9. To make this clear: I was speaking about Pilot’s Ultimate Mesh which I use in the OpenLC EU areas like France or Germany, as suggested by ORBX (of course the non-Ultimate Pilot’s Mesh or the special FTX version would do as well). Within ORBX regions like NZ I deactivate it, as these come with their own (Holger) meshes which I suppose to be sufficient and optimum adapted to the rest of the scenery. However, within the OpenLC EU area the difference between standard mesh and Pilot’s mesh is very noticeable, at least in mountain regions.

        I never used UTX by Flight1 during the last years.

        Kind regards, Michael

        Like

      10. Okay but I will add that UTx NA v2.0, at least on my system, is a must have when flying outside FTX regions. I turn it off when flying in the FTX NA regions.

        BTW, I am a happy camper again, thanks to you and Geert for shining the light for me.

        Rick S.

        Like

  3. Hello dear simmers,

    I have been working on this problem with blurry landscape on p3d, and here is what I found out, clear the Shaderfiles and then start up your P3D and every things looks nice and dandy.
    Leaving the P3D and starting it again, well then all is back to blurry. log down agn. clear the Shader files, start up and all is then OK agn.
    So there must be a link between P3D and the Shader files, should obviously been cleared every time when leaving the P3D.
    Question is, are there a way to set up the system to automatically clear Shader files when
    closing down the P3D??

    Clearing the Shader files working for me!! I just have to remember that every time before starting up my sim.

    Happy new Year to all of You

    Regards
    Geert

    Like

    1. Hi Geert,
      Yes, that’s possible. One simple solution is to write a bat file that includes the loading of P3D, and then running commands to delete the Shader Cache after P3D quits.
      Tom

      Like

      1. Hey Tom,
        Thanks for Your answer, and Yes that’s a possibility, but I don’t no how to make this batch file, working with all cfg files in sim. is not a problem!
        So if possible could You give me an advice how to do? And I will try it, because I don’t have humor for this!! Most of us running high end pc’s, and with the technologies that is available to day, this problem could easily been solved from the manifactury. All other large games available works excellent. So whats the problems – Hi.
        For me, it’s looks like, that they not trying out the sim program, before selling it!
        And we are therefore left back with all the problems.
        Hope that some will wake up and do something.

        For You and family Happy New Year

        Geert

        Like

      2. Hi Geert,
        Send me the folder locations of your P3D (e.g. P:\Prepar3D) and Shader (e.g. C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2). I’ll help write a quick one for you. It may take awhile however.
        Tom

        Like

      3. Hi Tom,

        Thanks again, glad that You will help here. First some thinking’s I made, one issue is the Shader, but there must be some other failures maybe in between Scenery and Texture files, and maybe also in the way that Scenery is plased in Library!? It’s rather komplexed I think.

        Here comes my Locations of my P3D:
        E:\FLIGHTSIM PREPAR 3.D

        Shader files located at:
        C:\Brugere\geert holgersen\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2

        Brugere is the danish word for Users!! Letters has to be written as You se them here!

        As mentioned above, do You think that there could be a link between blurry texture an the way Scenery are placed in Library!? I working with only ORBX.

        Have a nice day SU
        Geert

        Like

      4. I use ORBX too. The addon does affect P3D or FSX’s performance but the reasons causing blurriness are multiple.
        Try adding the following to see if it helps
        [JOBSCHEDULER]
        AffinityMask=255
        I know P3D v2.4 suppose to use all cores, but adding this line somehow helps in my previous case.
        Will write up the batch for you later.
        Tom

        Like

      5. Hi Tom,

        Yes but always running my affinity mask 252 the last 6 cores!! which should be more than ok! But said before there are multiple reasons for the blurries, but it’s all bound up with the load of Shaders and scenery /texture we just need to find out where the key are – HI. Tried all possible settings for my graffic card, but no help here!!

        Geert

        Like

      6. Curious Tom, I too suffer from slow texture drawing on a very high powered system. My frames are fantastic but the blurries are slow to clear even at slow GA speeds. I have tried about everything I have seen but have not given the shader cache file any thought?

        Where is it and what is it called? Just one file or are there multiple files? In the above referenced directory I have a shader folder and a shader10 folder, the later probably something to do with Steve’s DX10 Fixer payware; which I do use exclusively.

        Thanks
        Rick S.

        Like

      7. Hi Rick,
        Try adding the following to your cfg to see if it helps
        [JOBSCHEDULER]
        AffinityMask=255
        Adding this line somehow helps in my previous case.
        Regarding the Shader, yes, that’s the folder. (e.g. C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Local\Microsoft\FSX)
        It’s safe to delete the Shaders and Shaders10 folder under the directory. FSX or P3D will recreate them the next time it runs. If you are not sure, you can make a copy of them first or rename them to something else.
        Tom

        Like

      8. Hi Rick.

        Regarding affinity-mask, I run it with 252 means the last 6 cores! No problems, looked it up under “Start Job-list” and all ok! Also my FPS fantastic but the blurries still there!
        Shader files is to be found under app data / local / Lockheed Martin / Prepar3D v2 / Shaders.
        You have to delete the hole File-map called Shaders, looking into this file looks complete different than from FSX! It’s filled up with CSO-files!! No shaders 10 – 20 – 40 as in FSX!
        I’m not running any special shaders as You – The DX10 fixer payware wont do You any good!! By the way I’m running DX11 and P3D find this out it’s self!

        The blurries still occurs from time to time, so as mentioned before to Tom, there must be some other failures regarding the load of Scenery / Texture, I working on it, but this is a jungle – hi!

        Geert

        Like

      9. I have tried AM=255 w/HT on vs my normal 14 w/HT off. 255 gives me way higher temps (5′ to10’C) but no noticeable difference in visual quality or performance.

        I will try making a BU and deleting the folder10 as you suggest; wonder if I will need to rerun DX10 Config to revert/install the shaders first/after deletion?

        Will let you know results when I get to it.

        Thanks
        Rick S

        Like

      10. Hi Rick,

        I Running with Gforce Black Titan and yes temp. are high. have normally FPS over cloudy airports, at 40 to 85!!
        One thing with all this problems is, when flying with small aircraft’s like Cessna I can fly for hours with no blurry problems. But shifting to A737-800 I got the blurry ground after a few minutes, this make no sense, or what?
        However I’m still sure that the link for these failures, has to be found in Scenery / Texture loading and in the Shaders setup. Which is some how different in P3D than in FSX. But continuing the work, and we might be the winners, one of these days – hi.

        Geert

        PS. YES DON’T FORGET THE BU!!!!

        Like

      11. Well, deleting the Shader10 didn’t realize any positive results. Funny, I watched a Frooglesim video yesterday with him flying a Military Jet out of John Wayne airport. In the video he says he is only running Orbix stuff with no special airports scenery on a modest system. The city looked fantastic, sharp not blurry at all and I saw no scenery popping whatsover. He was running in P3D while I am using FSX, so that might explain some of it, but not all.

        I rarely ever see FPS below 20 mostly 30-40 with the limiter off, have tried turning sliders completely down and gradually bring them back up; changed texture resolution in my add-on’s; tried every nVidia tweak I could find; no joy. I will add again that my overall experience is good but I cannot get the level of detail etc that I expect with a i7-4790k@4.9GHz with a GTX-980sc.

        Thanks
        Rick S.

        Like

      12. Hi Rick,

        Well, I made a drastic choice, have deleted my hole P3D, and now rebuilding it, as I want to see when this problem with the blurries start’s.
        Running with only ORBX global and Orbx Vectors, seems to be no problems, but will run this for a little while more, before installing more ORBX Scenery.
        will revert asap, with news!!.

        Geert

        Like

  4. Hi Guys, also bad very blurry texture on my prepar3d v2.4. Running I7 core 4.2 Ghz, and 32 Gb ram. 2 x Geforce Black Titan 6 Gb vram each. All my addons are ORBX I got them all!! Flying over cloudy airports gives me an FPS 45 – 80 I believe that’s okay!.
    But the blurry txt is a pain in my .. I’m using 6 core for flightsim. Have no tweaks on cfg file. I tried almost every thing possible but still no luck. There are so many different opinions, how to deale with this problem. I’m an old simmer, have been with from the very beginning so I do no a little about this! but CAN’T solve the problem with texture. So as soon some of Your guys find a sollution let me no!!!!!!!!

    Thanks for all the inputs from this side

    Geert, DK

    Like

      1. I had this problem too last week and you’re right, setting textures to 1024 didn’t change anything, sorry about that useless tip. Finding the right affinity mask did though and right now, on a four core i7 with HT enabled, I’m using 252 and it’s cured the blurry textures. I also found that running with unlimited frames helped tremendously, which never worked for me in FSX.

        Like

      2. Glad to hear that. Affinity mask is a crucial tweak. Regarding unlimited frames, it is more friendly to P3Dv2 than FSX. On my system, I found 31 a sweet spot.

        Like

  5. Same issue here. I tried changing all slide graphics parameters but it seems to be a problem between FTX global textures and the P3D v2.2. I also made a clean install and i have not problems before installing FTX Global.
    I think Looked Martin Staff know about it. They didnt fixed it on V2.2 and i hope they take care of the blurries bug on next patch release.
    Thats the only reason im still using FSX-
    Please if you have the medicine for this, posted, im very amxious to fly over P3D simulator.

    Pd: Sorry for my poor english! (From Buenos Aires, Argentina).

    Like

  6. I am a bit confused. Why do you assign “PanelsIO.exe” to cores 0 and 1? “PanelsIO.exe” is part of the SPAD package driving the Switch etc. panels not being performance critic. I have presently assigned “SaiFlightSimX.exe” to core 0 (might try to add 1) to make the FIPS run more smoothly. And btw., thanks once more for your excellent C172 gauges.

    Otherwise, I just have to say I am blown away by the performance and eye-candy of Prepar3d 2.2. Aside a few really minor issues (like the opaque ATC window), this is the simulator I have been dreaming of for years.

    Kind regards, Michael (the other one :-)

    Like

    1. Good question Michael (the other one).
      I have no idea why PanelsIO works better. I tried both and just pick the one best performs.
      Do note that the case is applicable to 2.1 only. In 2.2, I don’t need to do anything and FIPs already run smoothly. Probably 2.2 has optimized the handling of Saitek drivers.
      Anyway, I’ll give SaiFlightSimX.exe a go to see if it has any effect on 2.2.
      BTW, I’ve been using 50 instead of 100 for all Gauge Timeout in the SaiFlightSimX.xml file. It helps in both P3D and particular FSX.
      Tom

      Like

  7. Did you see the note from Beau (LM Rendering team) about SLI? (http://www.prepar3d.com/forum-5/?mingleforumaction=viewtopic&t=6352)

    “A quick note on SLI:
    – If you have multiple monitors and multiple views, then you’ll generally be better off driving a display from each video card than using SLI. If you have 2 cards and 1 monitor than it’s worth giving SLI a shot.
    – We’re still waiting on NVidia to create an SLI driver profile for Prepar3D v2 so the drivers may not be picking the best SLI mode for our app be default.
    – We still have more work to do to improve SLI performance, but we chose to focus on autogen vegetation performance for this release as it was a big contributor to OOMs and CPU boundedness.
    – If you want to check out what the best-case improvement of SLI might be in the future, you can try this:
    1. Make a copy of your Prepar3D.exe and rename it AFR-FriendlyD3D.exe. Now make a new shortcut to the AFR-FriendlyD3D.exe and launch that. This is a developer trick for telling the SLI drivers not to copy any resources between GPUs each frame. (See NVidia’s SLI Best Practices Doc for more info: http://developer.download.nvidia.com/whitepapers/2011/SLI_Best_Practices_2011_Feb.pdf) In a perfect world, we wouldn’t need any resources to be copied and this would result in a nice perf boost with no side effects. In the real world, we do have some features that rely on resources that persist frame-to-frame. HDR is one of them so you’ll probably want to turn that off to avoid getting an odd pulsing effect. You may also see some garbage geometry streak across the screen here and there. (at least that’s what I was seeing on a dual titan rig with the drivers I was using at the time.)

    Also, any time you enable/disable SLI in the driver settings you should clear out your shader cache or you may get driver crashes. This really shouldn’t happen since cached shaders are compiled in a non-device-specific way, but it does seem to happen nonetheless. This is also sometimes true of doing driver updates.

    Beau Hollis
    Rendering System Lead – Prepar3D® Team”

    I’m also running 3 monitors, so I’m excited to see what you are doing, but I’m starting to think of grabbing additional 770’s and not putting them in SLI. I definitely see a difference running a single monitor versus all 3 in surround.

    Like

    1. Thank you Michael. I am aware of that already.
      Actually, my case has been solved even though still looking for the sweet spot. The story was splitted into 2 or 3 parts just to arouse curiosity and suggestion in which I might possibly learn as well.
      Will find sometime to work on the 2nd in earliest possible.
      Tom

      Like

  8. Hi Tom. I see you run in surround. Have you found any fix to the stretch on the side monitors? I gets better if I put wideviewaspect to true and then zoom out. But its not quite the same. I72600k oc 4,1. 3x 24″. 780GTX

    Maybe it would be nice to post about how to get surround working properly in fsx?

    Awesome blog. Keep up the good work!!

    Like

    1. Hi Mathias,
      I prefer standard aspect and zoom at 3.0 by default.
      Not quite sure about your question. I just have the display set in surround then run the simulator with the expanded resolution. That’s basically done. Of course, still need to find the sweet spot for the best balance.
      Currently focusing on P3D and will be back to fsx sometime soon.
      Tom

      Like

      1. Thanks Tom. Many people have the same issue about stretch on the side monitors. Thanks for you tip anyways:)

        Like

  9. Hi Tom…been having a hard time either patching to 2.2 or
    clean install…re: your clean install, did you remove all prior
    versions of P3D?…did you do anything else of note?….are you
    planning to reinstall all you aircraft of just transfer over?…
    thanks, John H.

    Like

    1. Hi John,
      Yes, I uninstalled P3D v2.1 and all addons from my SSD. That means the new version 2.2 is installed onto a “clean” drive.
      About addons reinstallation, yes, I will reinstall them again if they are already 2.2 compatible.
      If not, I will use the approach mentioned in Post 57 and then transfer the files over.
      Regarding the FSX to P3D Migration tool I mentioned in last post, it is not a bad one. But I don’t like to be unaware of what files are installed onto my system. Particularly, the tool modifies the structure of the simulator and acts in a way I don’t feel comfortable with.
      Tom

      Like

  10. Tom, can you make the same test with one screen to see if results are the same. I mean your 3 high resolution screens are a real challenge even for a high end PC.

    Like

Leave a Reply

