222: Wet Compass

Just made a simple Wet Compass for Nils Taubert.   Actually, it’s been requested by some other friends from time to time.CompassS

Programming for the wet compass isn’t complicated.   But, the graphics renderings and image alignments, in particular, are still very time-consuming and involve a lot of trial and error as always.

The gauge uses the default 240 x 240 resolution on FIP due to its simplicity.   Very likely I will incorporate it to my other gauges in the future.

A note to P3D users: the compass may not behave properly since Nils reported that the compass markings were the “wrong way around”, and he had to revert the markings in order to make it works.   On FSX system, it works correctly.

Update: Don’t find the issue reported by Nils under P3D v2.

Welcome FSX Times Subscribers to ask for the download link via the COMMENT section below. If you like it, give a “Like” to the post.

60 thoughts on “222: Wet Compass

  1. Tom,
    I’m building a full 737NG cockpit and would love to use one of my FIP’s I have leftover from my last sim build to make my wet compass. Could I please get the compass download link?
    Thanks for all of your amazing work!!
    Craig

    Like

  2. Very cool gauge, good to practice on the ground with the compass going one way and the DG going another! Please could I get the link? Thanks!

    Like

  3. hi love the gauges you create and am playing around with creating some to , just wondering if there is a way to test the gauges without starting fsx every time thanks for any advice info is hard to find and the sdk is just confusing .

    Like

  4. A truly international project! We were on the chatter a few nights long to get this sorted. Thanks again Tom, will send you picture most likely tonight!

    Like

  5. Very nice job as all your other gauges.

    Still interested with new gauges who enhanced my simulator.

    Many thanks in adavnce;.

    JL

    Envoyé depuis Courrier Windows

    De : FSX Times
    Envoyé : ‎vendredi‎ ‎8‎ ‎novembre‎ ‎2013 ‎17‎:‎05
    À : jean-louis.ucla@wanadoo.fr

    WordPress.com
    Tom Tsui posted: “Just made a simple Wet Compass for Nils Taubert. Actually, it’s been requested by some other friends from time to time. Programming for the wet compass isn’t complicated. But, the graphics renderings and image alignments, in particular, are still v”

    Like

    1. Don’t quite understand your question David. If you mean how to add it to your FIP, read my post 187 and 197. They talk about adding new gauges to FIP and how to arrange them in a better order.
      Tom

      Like

  6. Hi Tom,
    That’s another nice gauge of yours. I would enjoy trying it.
    Could you send me a dload link please.

    Winter is coming to LSGS snow above 4000 ft tomorrow.
    Regards,
    Kim

    Like

  7. What a surprise! I just have done one for myself last month, as I told you! :-)
    My last request for it here is half a year ago.
    Can you send me the link?, if you like, i can send you mine, too. mine is in 737NG-Style 320x240px

    Dirk

    Like

Leave a Reply

