New Gauge Collection Page

Just created a new section called Gauge Collection for FIPs under Hardware on the Menu.  This is the place where I put all the gauges I made so far and where I will make in the future (possibly including gauges in progress.)

Although all gauges are marked for specific aircrafts, some of them are generally good for other aircrafts as well as long as you don’t mind they look a little different from the cockpit you are seating.

Should you have multiple FIPs, I believe you could easily compile a set of gauges that best fits your preference.

25 thoughts on “New Gauge Collection Page

  1. Tom,

    have you (or someone else) ever seen an analog or digital clock FIP gauge? I mean, time is something very basic for flying, thus I have been always puzzled that no one did care as far as I know. If not, would it be possible to integrate at least a digital time display into one of the other gauges? Thanks for caring and kind regards from a very happy user of your gauges, Michael

    Like

    1. Hi Michael,
      I thought about it before. Because I am using Saitek’s Yoke which comes with a digital clock on it. So I didn’t make one. Let me think about it.
      Tom

      Like

      1. Hi Tom,

        that would be really great! I use the Cessna yoke which lacks the digital clock but has a wider angle of rotation (and the pretty Cessna logo :-)). I’d be even prepared to spend a few bucks towards this project, just legt me know. Kind regards, Michael

        Like

  2. Hi Tom,

    I saw the new CT210 and C172 gauges you recently made. Great work! Please send me the download link to try them out.

    Thanks Dan

    ________________________________

    Like

      1. Yes, Rick is right. I just made a test. Without FIPs I get under a certain situation 30 fps. With panels connected to the client this drops to 24 fps. I don’t have the panels connected to the main PC now, but as far as I recall the drop was even harder in this case. This is on my system with 6 FIPs. I still don’t want to live without them, though.

        Like

      2. I run at locked 30fps; depending on the weather and airport. I might run as low as, at an intermittent, 15 at take off but performance always returns to between 25 to 30 (all devices running on the main PC). I have found that 30fps is a nice target but not a game stopper. I use wide client for Plan-G now on the client machine with no apparent loss of fps. I can increase the bad fps by turning down some eye candy, but I have a real sweet tooth in that regard.

        Rick S.

        Like

  3. Tom, I came up with a result, finally. The main point was, I only loaded the driver program “SaiFlightSimX.exe” when the Sim was up and running and all was connected. I now put it into the Client’s autostart and your procedure does indeed provide a reproducible order. So, for people on a Client Server Setup, do the following:

    0. Put the SaiFlightSimX.exe in the Client’s autostart.
    1. Start the Simulator on the Server. USB HUB switched off, USB cable not connected to the Client. Of course you can boot the Client in parallel, if not yet running.
    2. Power on the USB HUB
    3. Connect the USB cable to the Client.

    The downside is having to plug in the USB cable each and every time. How often can you plugin an USB cable, until plug or socket is broken? In principle, there should be a more clever solution, but supposedly Saitek did not implement (or only not document?) it. Any FIP comes with a unique serial number, the one displayed on the “screen server”. Thus, a clean solution would be to read off these serial numbers and assign them to instruments in the SaiFlightSimX.xml.

    As a side note, I noticed a very noticeable frame rate loss (I use 6 FIPs) compared to the Client Server configuration when I experimented with plugging the FIPs into the main computer (as most people do).

    Kind regards, Michael

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback Michael. I will write up a post about the startup order.

      To those who leave their USB connected all the time, the action of plugging and unplugging the USB is a far more bigger issue than the wearing of the cable itself. But to me, the most important thing is to get the gauges to start up in the order of what I want.

      I do the same hoping that the serial number screen could be removed but unfortunately it can’t be done.

      BTW, do you mean your framerate is getting slower when gauges are connecting via a Client computer?
      Tom

      Like

      1. No, framerate is considerably slower when running the FIPs on the main Computer as the Simulator. On the other hand, the FIPs move smoother on the main Computer, while they are a (little) bit jerky when running them over the Client, so it’s a tradeoff. At least, that’s on my System with a quite dated laptop as Client. Kind regards, Michael

        Like

      2. Thanks for the note, Michael. It could be since FIPs are no longer processed by the main computer’s CPU. But on the other hand, the connecting signals travel longer and affects the response of the gauges if your network or client isn’t powerful enough.

        Like

  4. Tom, I’d just say thanks once more. I am mostly flying the C172. I am using your new airspeed gauge, complemented by the C210 gauges and the default compass and turn indicator. Those six make a really great set, not to mention valuable add-on functions like the flaps indicator.

    I still have one issue with the FIPs, though. Every time I start the gauges they are displayed in a different order, thus I have to “wear my fingers” like Rick. Of course, I know your post no. 118, however exchanging the plugs might help little if the order is different at every start. Perhaps it’s my Setup? I use a powered hub, however the master USB cable is connected to my Client Laptop and run via Simconnect (in Prepar3D). All this works fine and frame rates are less drawn than if I connect the panels to the main FS computer itself. The only remaining problem is the fluctuating startup order of the panels.

    Anyone any idea?

    Thanks once more and Kind regards, Michael

    Like

    1. Hi Michael, I am plugging my main powered usb hub for FSX via my monitor’s USB port. Though a bit different from your case, I guess you could try the following:-

      1) Use a separate USB hub (powered) to connect all your gauges
      2) Load FSX first — DON’T connect the USB hub to the computer yet (leave it unplugged)
      3) Now, power on the USB hub

      4) Connect the USB hub to your computer
      5) Mark down the startup order of the gauges

      6) While FSX is still running, unplug the USB hub
      7) Wait for about 10 seconds or wait until you hear the warning sound from the computer indicating that the USB is unplugged
      8) Then reconnect the USB hub to your computer again

      If everything goes well, the starup order of the gauges should be the same as 5) above

      Repeat step 6) to 8) a few times to confirm the order is the same. Then you can swap the USB ports of the gauges accordingly.
      Or better modify your SaiFlightSimX.xml to get the startup order of your desire.

      Note that sometimes you may need to turn OFF and ON the power of the USB hub during the unplugging process in order to get the gauges to startup in the correct order.

      AND MOST IMPORTANT, NEVER NEVER plug in the USB hub of your gauges before FSX is loaded.

      Let me know if this solves your problem.

      Tom

      Like

  5. FYI, to answer the question about how many FIP’s you can run; I have 21 Saitek USB devices including 12 FIP’s; all running at the same time with no problems. SPAD and USIPC (full version) are not totally required but make things run much more reliably and consistent. I used to wear my fingers out getting the same gauge to come up in the same FIP until I found one of Tom’s posts about how to set up remote USB hubs.

    Tom’s gauges are by far the best I have found.

    Thanks again Tom
    Rick S.

    Like

  6. Hi Tom, is there any limit to how many gauges you can scroll through in FSX for the FIP’s?

    Also could you send on your collection to me please, also if I can make a suggestion, a compass would be a very welcome future addition … at the moment I have 7 of the Saitek FIP’s and hope to add a couple more.

    Thanks.

    Like

    1. Good question, Colin. I didn’t test to see how many gauges we can use. But I have no problem scrolling about a dozen. I am having 7 FIPs as well and I have 8 to 10 gauges set in my xml files.
      Yes, a compass. I’ll see what I can do. The links are sent to you already.
      Tom

      Like

Leave a Reply

