85: AMD Radeon Settings (11.8 Updated)

Just upgraded to version 11.8 a week ago and in my case the new driver brings a positive result — places where used to have stutters now become smoother even though no obvious increase in overall fps.

Two major changes in setting I use in the new driver are the enabling of 64X Tessellation and Surface Format Optimization. Both of them were causing some degrees of performance degradation.  Click here to see my earlier 11.7 setting.


NOTE:
Due to the discrepancy to what I’ve been using for a long time, I am now re-tuning my whole system as if it was just newly installed.  Will post the whole process and the final results and settings when done.

Update:
See notes from My FSX Tuning Part 2

3 thoughts on “85: AMD Radeon Settings (11.8 Updated)

    1. I didn’t tick the box of Surface Format Opt. It was an “x”.
      Regarding OpenGL, it worked quite well with my previous AMD card, 5870. I unchecked it for my current 6970.
      Also, you may find some settings I am using, such as Hyper-threading & bufferpools, different from other suggested on the internet.
      Our hardware and software are unique. I can only comment on what I have (had). So don’t just completely listen to me or others, try it yourself to see if it works on your system.

      Like

  1. Tom, I don’t know to said THANKS you. I’m HD5850 2GB (Saphire Toxic Edition) owner and never can setup mu graphic card to have best performance, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks. I’m running my FSX very smooth, no stutters, no blurries, and the best with all my FSX settings to maximum (Very high density in all Scenary settings). Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks. In the past I try to find the best performance with AKA Bojote tunning page but he use an nVidia Graphic Card. My settings don’t have Affinity, RejectThreshold and others tweakings but I have a solid 25fps (without external FPS limiter) very smooth. Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks. I’m proud to have a friend like you. Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, Thanks A LOT.
    Bigbrother1958.

    Like

Leave a Reply

