24: Reduce Autogen File Size

Autogen objects are defined by default.xml under FSX’s Autogen folder.   Many third-party sceneries during installation will add new objects to the file, making it bigger and bigger.

Here’s a quick and easy way to reduce the size of it and bring some improvements, especially to low- to mid-end computers.

1) Locate default.xml in the Autogen folder of the Microsoft Flight Simulator X directory (x:\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Autogen)

2) Backup the file first for safety sake

3) Open the file with Notepad

4) Change encoding=”utf-16″ to encoding=”utf-8″ on the first line

5) Click Safe As… from the file menu

6) Choose UTF-8 from the Encoding option next to the Save button

7) Click Save and confirm to overwrite the original file, then Exit Notepad

By converting  the encoding of default.xml from UTF-16 to UTF-8, file size of it can be reduced significantly (in my case up to 65%) and bring some improvements to overall performance.

5 thoughts on “24: Reduce Autogen File Size

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, I�ve spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

