01: Hello FSX world!

This is the place where I post all my tweaks, tips, notes and information regarding all aspects of FSX.

The spec of my current PC is as follows:

CPU: Intel i7 930 overclocked to 3.9GHz with Corsair H50 cooler
Mother Borad: Asus P6X58D-E
RAM: Corsair Dominator 6G x 2 = 12G (1600MHz)
Graphics Card: GigaByte Nvidia GTX285
Storage: Corsair Nova 128G for FSX / Seagate 1TB for Addon Sceneries
Power: SilverStone ST1000-NV
Monitor: Dell 30-inch (2560 x 1600)
Chassis: Cooler Master CM690 advanced

My computer could be overclocked to 4.2GHz but I hate the heat.  So I keep it running at 3.93GHz normally.  Temperature is about 43 to 53°C under normal usage and up to around 80°C when running FSX.   Overall performance so far is reasonably good and stable.

2 thoughts on “01: Hello FSX world!

  1. Hello, I came to your blog by googling “Catalyst Settings”. And it was a great surprise to find so many good informations and tips to improve FSX. I haven’t read all posts yet, but I will. And maybe I will find good advices as I’m in the process of changing my Graphic Card. I currently have an ASUS GTX285 and a Sapphire HD4890. I would like to change for a GTX570 (or 580) or an ATI 7970, but no decided yet.
    At last, I wanted to say keep up the good work !

    Stephane

    Like

    1. Hi Stephane,
      Glad you find my blog helpful. Same to you, I am planning for an upgrade to my graphic card as well. I was thinking HD7970 since I’ve been using AMD card for quite some time. However, reviews on the internet about GTX 680 impress me a lot. I may switch to it. Not yet decided since I am also looking forward to the new Ivybridge CPU which should be coming soon.
      Tom

      Like

Leave a Reply

